The General Assembly elected May 25, 1955 is the 48th in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 23rd since Confederation. It has 30 members from 15 electoral districts who serve for a statutory term of five years. One-half of the Members of the Legislative Assembly are elected on a property vote. Each district elects one Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote).

The annual salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and each Cabinet Minister, with two exceptions, receives \$4,000; the Minister of Education and the Minister of Health each receive \$3,000. Each Member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$1,000 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$500 tax free as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid an additional sum of \$400 and a further additional amount of \$200 tax free as an indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional sum of \$800 and a further additional amount of \$200 tax free for expenses incurred by him in relation to his official duties.

15.—Legislatures and Premiers of Prince Edward Island 1935-55 and Ministry as at June 30, 1955

Legislatures 1935-19551

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947 Apr. 26, 1951 May 25, 1955	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly	4 4 5 6	Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948 Oct. 23, 1951	Apr. 21, 1939 Aug. 20, 1943 Oet. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951 Apr. 27, 1955

¹ The Ministries from 1935-55 were: 19th Ministry sworn in Oct. 14, 1933 under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan; 20th Ministry sworn in Aga. 15, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry sworn in Jan. 14, 1936 under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell; 22nd Ministry sworn in May 11, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. D. Walter Jones; 23rd Ministry sworn in May 25, 1953 under the leadership of Hon. A. W. Matheson. ² Legislature not yet opened at June 30, 1955.

Twenty-Third Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, May 25, 1955: 27 Liberals and 3 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier. Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Attorney and Advocate General and President of the Executive Council Minister of Public Works and Minister of Industry and Natural Resources. Minister of Welfare and Minister of Labour Minister of Education. Provincial Secretary and Treasurer Minister of Highways Minister of Health Minister without portfolio	Hon. Alexander W. Matheson. Hon. Dougald MacKinnon. Hon. W. F. Alan Stewart. Hon. Eugene Cullen. Hon. Keir Clark. Hon. B. Earle MacDonald. Hon. J. George MacKay. Hon. M. Lorne Bonnell. Hon. Edward P. Foley.	June 16, 1951 May 25, 1953 Jan. 18, 1955 June 15, 1955	June '15, 1955 June 15, 1955

Subsection 3.—Nova Scotia

The Government of the Province of Nova Scotia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable Alistair Fraser, Lieutenant-Governor at June 30, 1955, was commissioned to office Sept. 1, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 87.